Bloody Nosed Beetle Larva

I have been off the blogging scene for a while as we have moved house-to another beautiful place where we are surrounded by countryside, very English countryside.

I found this little fellow early one morning and he made me very excited as I have been looking for one of these for a few years now! In case you missed in the title of the blog…..he’s a Bloody Nosed Beetle larva!

I love his shape, colour, curliness and feet!

IMG_8383

So I have taken lots of photos!

IMG_8385

The Bloody Nosed Beetle gets its name because when frightened it produces a bright red liquid from its mouth!

IMG_8387

Naturally this bright red liquid is foul tasting thus putting off predators!

IMG_8390

If you follow the link at the end of this blog you will see what wonderful feet the adult Bloody Nosed Beetle has……well I think so!

IMG_8400

If you wanted to know any more about this little fellow, then follow this link……

https://www.buglife.org.uk/bugs-and-habitats/bloody-nosed-beetle

That’s All!

See Ya xx

5 comments on “Bloody Nosed Beetle Larva

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Edge | Dot knows! (elleturner4)

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!