Macro Monday

Today, in close up, I present a little chap called……

Empis Tessellata or ‘Emp’ for short!

Poor old Emp has been described on the internet as a large, drab green-brown bristly fly with brown-tinged wings! How rude!

Poor old Emp has been described on the internet as a large, drab green-brown bristly fly with brown-tinged wings! How rude! Drab? I don’t think so!

"Don't mess with me!" said Emp haughtily, "Though I feed on nectar I am also a predator and can catch other insects with my long pointed proboscis which I pierce their bodies with……so don't upset me!"

“Don’t mess with me!” said Emp haughtily, “Though I feed on nectar I am also a predator and can catch other insects with my long pointed proboscis which I pierce their bodies with……so don’t upset me!”

"Also," snarled Emp, "When I feel in the mood (nudge nudge) I present a 'gift' to the object of my desire, in the form of a dead insect, before any shenanigans take place. The ladies are most fussy and will not mate with males who do not present a gift. I've got it sussed though!"

“Also,” snarled Emp, “When I feel in the mood (nudge nudge) I present a ‘gift’ to the object of my desire, in the form of a dead insect, before any shenanigans take place. The ladies are most fussy and will not mate with males who do not present a gift.”

For other Macro Monday photos visit here!

That’s All!

See Ya xx

4 comments on “Macro Monday

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Enveloped | Dot knows! (elleturner4)

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

