Weekly Photo Challenge: Early Bird 2

So, over at The Daily Post the challenge is ‘Early Bird’.

Well whilst on a narrowboat at Easter I got up early to walk Rocky the dog and saw this beautiful Buzzard most definitely looking out for his breakfast!

Bernie Buzzard was hungry He'd not eaten since yesterday's tea 'Twas early and he had decided To see what he could from a tree!

Bernie Buzzard was hungry
He’d not eaten since yesterday’s tea
‘Twas early and he had decided
To see what he could from a tree!

He barely moved a muscle Just his head turned a tiny bit But then he noticed me and my dog And from that very tree he did flit!

He barely moved a muscle
Just his head turned a tiny bit
But then he noticed me and my dog
And from that very tree he did flit!

Sadly he went into the field a way off and I thought that was my only sighting of him for the day.

However….

Oh imagine my joy

Imagine my smile

On coming back to the boat

For up over there

Bernie’d come back

A chuckle grew up in my throat!

Out with the camera

On with the stealth

Tiptoe to up over there

Don’t hold your breath

It’ll give you the shakes

Now capture his beauty so rare….

"My tummy's a rumblin' I'll look over there." Said Bernie with hope in his heart!

“My tummy’s a rumblin’
I’ll look over there.”
Said Bernie with hope in his heart!

"I'm early enough to catch more than a worm, cos I'm big and I'm bad and I'm smart!"

“I’m early enough to catch more than a worm, cos I’m big and I’m bad and I’m smart!”

He looked to the right

He looked to the left

I wondered what he could see!

And then with a jolt

When I checked once again…..

….he was looking directly at me!!!

….he was looking directly at me!!!

19 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Early Bird 2

  1. That’s a BUZZARD ??? I always imagined buzzards to be … oh, I don’t know: maybe like vultures or something.
    I never knew they were all the other raptors !
    Bernie is HEAVENLY !!! – and how wonderful to have him staring down the lens !!!

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

