Weekly Photo Challenge: Early Bird

So Early Bird is this week’s photo challenge. I permitted myself a smile when I thought of my holiday a week ago on a narrowboat. Oh…..the early mornings and oh…the birds! Perfect combination for this challenge…..

So without further blather….

There I was doing a bit of stretching in the early morning when I heard a tapping….and that's when I saw Graham the Great Spotted Woodpecker!

There I was doing a bit of stretching in the early morning when I heard a tapping….and that’s when I saw Graham the Great Spotted Woodpecker!

"Now," said Graham the Great Spotted Woodpecker, "Where was that hole I was working on….?"

“Now,” said Graham the Great Spotted Woodpecker, “Where was that hole I was working on….?”

"Was it up a bit higher?" he wondered!

“Was it up a bit higher?” he wondered!

"Or was it another tree completely?" he wondered idly in the early morning light!

“Or was it another tree completely?” he thought idly in the early morning light!

Graham the Great Spotted Woodpecker finally found that hole!

Graham the Great Spotted Woodpecker finally found that hole!

And here he is thoroughly checking it out!

IMG_1475

Just to let you know how excited I was to catch this beautiful bird, it’s only the second or third time I have seen one…just so pleased!

Also, on the previous day, this next photo was the best shot I had managed to get of another Great Spotted Woodpecker! Look….

You can just make him out!

You can just make him out!

That’s All!

See Ya xx

 

33 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Early Bird

  1. How exciting, to actually get him going inside his doorway! Congratulations! I still remember all the excitement I felt at my first woodpecker, pecking away just over my head, at the tree I was sitting at the base of.

  2. I couldn’t actually do a post of the woodpecker for a while after I had taken the shot as I just couldn’t release the photos…such was my excitement!

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

