Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds

So…to explain….

The Rule of Thirds is a photography concept that puts the subject of the photograph off-center, which usually results in blank space in the rest of the image. If you focus closely on your subject and use a wide aperture, your photograph’s background will also be beautifully blurred in that blank space. The blurred area behind your focal point is referred to as bokeh, and when executed well, it adds depth and artistry to an otherwise simplistic photograph.

First….

Chalkhill Blue Boy!

Chalkhill Blue Boy!

Second…..

IMG_9055

Third…..

Chaffinch and a doomed caterpillar!

Chaffinch and a doomed caterpillar!

There is another part to the rule of thirds and that is…..

The Rule of Thirds is also a photography concept in which three photos are shown together and never alone! This group of three is referred to as bonkeh or bonkehs if there are several groups of three photos. The photographers can themselves claim to be bonkehs when using this technique!

You live and learn eh!

For other bokehs and bonkehs visit here!

That’s All!

See Ya xx

42 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds

    • I thought it was a bit of greenery in the beak of Mistress Chaffinch as I was taking the photos and it was only when I got home and downloaded that I saw the sad demise that had happened before my very eyes! Thank you 🙂

  1. BEAUTIFUL shots, Lizzie !! – and could you please send that chaffinch down here to save my little chilli plant ? Never have I seen a plant so … EATEN. And I cannot find the ****ing green caterpillar.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds 2 | Dot knows! (elleturner4)

    • Now…I have been back on yer blog because I don’t want to ask a question which I should have picked up on on your blog…but….I have tried diligently to find why you are called Outlier Babe and can’t find an answer! That said I have very stoooopid times where the obvious is entirely missed by myself! Please help! 😉

      • There is nothing deep about it, honestly. Like many Aspies, I often feel like I don’t fit in. Because I don’t. When I chose my gmail name, I decided to turn what can feel like a negative into a positive. An outlier is a term from statistics–those plot points that fall outside the ones along the standard bell curve. The term is non-judgemental, [spelling with e intentional] The addition of Babe gave it both my first name’s first initial, as well as a positive spin. I realized much later it was also a subconscious homage to my mother, whose nickname was Babe. Terribly abusive though she was, I craved her love, and I loved her a bit, the last few years of her life.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds 3 | Dot knows! (elleturner4)

  4. Pingback: Breaking and Image and Creating Tone | leticialullabies

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

