Beautiful Butterfly….The Orange Tip!

This butterfly is the female Orange Tip and thus, for some reason, does not have orange tips on her wings like the male! She, Olive Orange-Tip, had just emerged from her chrysalis and stayed on one of our narcissus for nearly 2 days…from the shock I think, for ’twas windy in my garden that day.

"Don't think I can't see you Missus!" said Olive Orange-Tip in an authoritative way! Sadly the truth was, even though Olive's eyes seemed to be focused on me, she hadn't got the hang of seeing just yet!

“Don’t think I can’t see you Missus!” said Olive Orange-Tip in an authoritative way! Sadly the truth was, even though Olive’s eyes seemed to be focused on me, she hadn’t got the hang of seeing just yet!

 

In fact, one might even go so far as saying that Olive's eyes were spinning!

In fact, one might even go so far as saying that Olive’s eyes were spinning and making her need to hold on tight to that narcissus!!

 

"Wait a minute," she said, "Oh yes….there you are….are you my mummy?"

“Wait a minute,” she said, “Oh yes….there you are….are you my mummy?”

And I always thought that it was just ducks and geese who thought the first thing they saw was their dear mama!

Isn't Olive amazing?

Isn’t Olive amazing?

 

IMG_2703

Do you know, I think I have felt just how Olive Orange-Tip looks quite a few times in my life!!

Do you know, I think I have felt just how Olive Orange-Tip looks quite a few times in my life!!

 

That’s All!

See Ya xx

24 comments on “Beautiful Butterfly….The Orange Tip!

  1. Oh ! – she’s so … FURRY ! The tiny thing ! It makes me want to cry, the thought of her hanging on there for two whole days, Lizzie. How long do they live, d’you know ?

    • Well I thought they just had the one season, you know, hatch in summer, cocoon until mid April following year, hatch mid April, look for a mate and perform sauciness for the eggs to be laid in high summer…then it all begins again! BUT how long it lives, I dunno!! I’ve had a little look and, well I’m a bit tired and can’t seem to find any more info… 😦 and of course for you 🙂

  2. fascinating capture on the daffodils! with such big green eyes, I am sure that this butterfly is part chameleon! did you get to see if the eyes moved independently of each other? 🙂

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

