A Heart-warming Story!!

Meet Lydia Ladybird…..

Lydia Ladybird looks healthy, well and quite happy where she is!

Lydia Ladybird looks healthy, well and quite happy where she is!

However!!!

Not long before I took this photo….Lydia Ladybird was not looking so happy by any means! Poor thing had had some bad news about her house, her children and a fire which had caused her to fall down in a faint mid-flight after which she dropped on my patio!

Just look at the state she was in!

A terrible state from both the front…..

…..both the front…..

…and from behind!

…and from behind!

To be fair, I was quite fascinated with the rather lovely shape of Lydia’s wings! I don’t think I have seen Ladybird’s wings quite as clearly as this before.

Anyway, I digress…… Lydia Ladybird retold her sorry tale which fair tugged at the heart strings! Here was a ladybird who needed help! Here was I ready to give it!

I picked her up carefully….oh so very carefully for Ladybirds don’t half give off a pong when threatened…..and took her into the field behind my house. I found her a little bramble leaf (with no thorns…I wouldn’t be so cruel!) and settled her into a new life! She seemed ready to move on by this time. I believe Ladybirds don’t have a complex memory system (rather like my own!) and so she was no longer sad about her poor departed family and home!

Look!

IMG_1951 IMG_1952

Here she is, ready to fly away to a new home! Bye Lydia Ladybird!!

Here she is, ready to fly away to a new home! Bye Lydia Ladybird!!

That’s All!

See Ya xx

17 comments on “A Heart-warming Story!!

  1. I have never seen a closeup of a ladybird before, Lizzie !! – you ARE clever ! Isn’t she pretty ?
    And I’ve never seen a ladybird with her spotted shell open ! – I had no idea what they look like undernearth … You have widened my entomological horizons, Thank you. 🙂

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

