KINGFISHER KINGFISHER KINGFISHER!!!

I have been in Fethiye, Turkey, for a week, staying right next to the sea…I mean, literally walk out of the door and there it is!!

What’s that? Proof…ok….

Voilà la proof!

The view of Fethiye harbour!

The view of Fethiye from the villa!

But really!! On to more wonderful things like KINGFISHERS!

We went for a walk up the coast when all of a sudden, a kingfisher flew in front of us, hovered like a hummingbird, then dived straight into the sea and extracted a small fish!

"Well," said Kufu Kingfisher, "I do rather like to put on a show for the tourists!"

“Well,” said Kufu Kingfisher, “I do rather like to put on a show for the tourists!”

 

He Kufu turned to show me his other side!

Kufu turned to show me his other side!

 

"I rather like this background to show my somewhat marvellous colouring dear English Tourist!" said Kufu graciously!

“I rather like this background to show my somewhat marvellous colouring dear English Tourist!” said Kufu graciously!

The ‘yalıçapkını’ (I’m hoping Turkish for kingfisher!) is a little different from the British one as it seems to have a deeper reddish brown round it’s neck, but I have to say it’s just as beautiful!

"Ooh, this egg box is soft only feet!" said Kufu, putting a good slant on the rubbish that seems to get thrown willy nilly into the sea!

“Ooh, this egg box is soft on my feet!” said Kufu, putting a good slant on the rubbish that seems to get thrown willy nilly into the sea!

"Dear English Tourust, this photo is a little blurred….take another!" demanded Kufu!

“Dear English Tourist, this photo is a little blurred….take another!” demanded Kufu!

Who was I to not obey??

"Much better!"

“Much better!”

To finish, here’s an interesting one of Kufu flying off at great speed!

IMG_8450

That’s All!

See Ya xx

14 comments on “KINGFISHER KINGFISHER KINGFISHER!!!

  1. I have never, ever seen one 🙂 What a gorgeous little bird. I want to go to Turkey right now to capture it 🙂 Elle, you have caught him beautifully 🙂

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

