Whose Curly Bottom Is That Curly Bottom???

IMG_7302

Out on walk with my mother we saw this fine fellow…a cygnus atratus I believe!

The black swan’s scientific name means ‘a swan attired in black’….makes sense I suppose!

“Good day!” I said to him, knowing that he comes from Australia!

"I say, are you talking to me young lady?" came his reply in a broad posh accent!

“I say, are you talking to me young lady?” came his reply in a broad posh accent!

I continued with my chit chat….

“Did you come here in a wedge and where’s your bank?”

He eyed me suspiciously! I heard him whisper "Who is this woman who can speak swan?"

He eyed me suspiciously! I heard him whisper “Who is this woman who can speak swan?”

And with that he struck a pose, almost as if he didn’t know what else to do. Oh by the way……

When in flight, a group of black swans is known as a ‘wedge’, whereas on the ground it is known as a ‘bank’.

"Hmmm I bet she doesn't know that we are the state emblem of Western Australia, and we appear on the state flag." he said to himself a little anxiously!

“Hmmm I bet she doesn’t know that we are the state emblem of Western Australia, and we appear on the state flag.” he said to himself a little anxiously!

 

And with that he swam off to find some other bank members!

And with that he swam off to find some other bank members!

As he swam off, I waved this flag at him…this seemed to really scare him!

images

But look who he brought back with him…..

"Oh!" said HSBC Swan to Santander Swan and Barclay Swan, "She really does speak swan!"

“Oh!” said HSBC Swan to Santander Swan and Barclay Swan, “She really does speak swan!”

I moved off as I felt sure they were about to make a variety of high-pitched, musical baying, bugling and trumpeting calls.

How right I was as the cacophony began!

What a lovely meeting it was and look how much you must have all learned about Black Swans!

That’s All!

See Ya xx

4 comments on “Whose Curly Bottom Is That Curly Bottom???

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

