Is It a Damsel in Distress? I Think Not!

Don’t tell these damselflies featuring on this blog that they are in fact Common Blue Damselflies (After all, no one likes to be called common do they!)

Anyway, let me introduce you to Denny and Delia Damselfly….

"I'm sure Delia will be here soon!" said Denny Damselfly feeling more than a little saucy on this hot summer's afternoon!

“I’m sure Delia will be here soon!” said Denny Damselfly feeling more than a little saucy on this hot summer’s afternoon!

 

Dennt decided to have some nectar whilst waiting for Delia to finish laying eggs up to a metre down in the water!

Denny decided to have some nectar whilst waiting for Delia to finish laying eggs up to a metre down in the water!

 

 

Delia is a little shy but once she emerged from the water it didn’t take Denny long to take control!

DAMSELFLY FACT:

Males use claspers or “anal appendages” (sorry and I know it’s immature but “anal appendages” makes me laugh!) at the end of their abdomen to grab females just behind the head!

And that’s just what Denny did!

"I suppose it'll make no difference if I say I have a headache?" questioned Delia in a little and slightly exhausted voice! After all, she had been laying eggs not ten minutes before!

“I suppose it’ll make no difference if I say I have a headache?” questioned Delia in a little and slightly exhausted voice! After all, she had been laying eggs not ten minutes before!

DAMSELFLY FACT:

When ready, the female curves her body forward so that her reproductive organs reach those of the male. This forms the “wheel” or “heart” position, which is held from a few seconds to several hours depending upon the species.

"Let us make our bodies into the shape os our hearts!" said Denny revealing his poetic bent!

“Let us make our bodies into the shape of our hearts!” said Denny revealing his poetic bent!

"Could you loosen your grip a little?" pleaded Delia submissively!

“Could you loosen your grip a little as I’ve just eaten?” pleaded Delia submissively!

DAMSELFLY FACT:

After copulation, the pair is still perfectly capable of flying when linked or “in tandem”.

From the front….

Delia's eyes looked more boggly than usual as she heard Denny mention that he knew rather a lovely stinging nettle to nestle upon nearby! "Flying in this position!" she thought!

Delia’s eyes looked more boggly than usual as she heard Denny mention that he knew rather a lovely stinging nettle to nestle upon nearby! “Flying in this position!” she thought!

 

IMG_5566

IMG_5564

"I knew this nettle would give us the perfect heart shape!" shouted Denny in triumph!

“I knew this nettle would give us the perfect heart shape!” shouted Denny in triumph once more showing his creative side!

These little damselflies are about 2 inches long and the most amazing blue that shimmers in the sun. The colours are straight from my camera with no photoshoppery at all!

That’s All!

See Ya xx

 

2 comments on “Is It a Damsel in Distress? I Think Not!

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

