Look at this! Inkweed!

In October last year I wrote a post about a plant I found with the most amazing fruit/berry. I had no idea what it was! Thanks to other ‘WordPressers’ I found out that the plant was called Inkweed and is native to America and Australia! So what it’s doing in a small village in Bedfordshire I have never quite fathomed!

Here’s the link to the original post where I was trying to find out what it was if you fancy a look!

https://elleturner4.wordpress.com/2012/10/02/but-what-is-it/

So when I was at the allotment the other day, what should I notice but the very same inkweed (Hank as I called him back then!) but this time ‘Hank’ is in full and very pretty pink flower! Not sure if Hank is an appropriate name now!

Have a look at this!

IMG_5339

IMG_5344

IMG_5321Isn’t it pretty!

Some close up shots…..

IMG_5318

IMG_5341

IMG_5341You just wouldn’t think something this beautiful could be poisonous!!

IMG_5314

IMG_5323

IMG_5328

IMG_5348

Oh, by the way….its flower is bisexual and and the flowerhead is erect! Don’t tut at me, that’s what it said in the description!

IMG_5360

And here’s a photo is it in full berry last October….

What a beauty!

What a beauty!

 

That’s All!

See Ya xx

15 comments on “Look at this! Inkweed!

  1. Absolutely gorgeous … and reminds me so much of the Pokeberries we used to see when I was a kid in Peeay, USA! I like the “permanently erect panicles” — we Americans have droopy panicles, LOL!

    • I’m only ten months in front of you as I only discovered it last October. Was so pleased I saw the flower that comes before the amazing fruit. It;s really pretty isn’t it? Thank you 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fresh | Dot knows! (elleturner4)

  3. Thank-you, Lizzie me love: I’ve never set eyes on this plant before. I doubt it grows in Oz, as we’d be too hot for it. Dunno how a weed is allowed to be so pretty !

    • When I first saw it it was in the purple fruity looking way and about 6-8 inches long. I had no idea what it was. Fortunately someone in wordpress thought it might be pokeweed..which led me to finding it’s true name of ink weed. But it should be in America, not a village in Bedfordshire. However it IS in Australia…here’s a quote “It flowers throughout the year with a flush in August to October in Perth.
      Spring and summer in south west WA.
      Mainly November to May in SE Australia.” Aha!! Oho!! 😉

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

