Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background 3

I love watching the birds and over the last few years have noticed that starlings are not as numerous as they were.

However….I have seen more this year and quietly, in the background, they are busy busy busy in my garden getting bugs and flies for their babies….

Look….

Sterling Starling really means business today!

Sterling Starling really means business today!

 

A beakful of food for the babies!

A beakful of food for the babies!

 

Look at the iridescence of Sterling’s feathers…wow says I!

IMG_3817 IMG_3815 IMG_3816

I can often hear starlings before I see them. To me they sound like they are grating their beaks together-so it’s not the most lovely of sounds, but very distinctive!

That’s All!

See Ya xx

8 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background 3

  1. Starlings used to be a bit of a nuisance in my part of the Eastern USA, but I’m not seeing as many of them lately. They can be kind of persistent, but I think they’re pretty. 🙂

    This little guy/gal is pretty.

    • Yes, he/she is lovely but I don’t know how to tell their sex! Hopefully it’ll be a good year for them. I remember they used to fly in huge ‘swarms’ as if they were just one floaty beast! 😉

      • Me either.

        They used to fly in huge swarms here, too, and farmers (and people with bird feeders!) hated them. One year we had a hundred on our yard, and that is no exaggeration. And when they arrived/ took off, it was very Hitchcock-like.

        Last year we had grackles in Hitchcock-sized flocks. And they sounded like hundreds of rusty gates being open and shut. They’re beautiful, with all that shimmery black-purple, but very persistent. And SMART. I saw one who kept showing up at our birdbath with some sort of dried berry, and then he’d dunk them in the water till they were soft.

    • I’ve never heard of grackles but have just googled them-they’re amazing colours and I’m not surprised they’re smart-I think nature is brilliant! I’ve definitely learned something as well! 🙂

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

