Shhhhh! It’s Secret Squirrel!

After work today, my partner and I decided we would have to go and do some digging down on the allotment. So off we went, forks a swinging, mud a flying! After a little while ( a very little while) I decided that my stint at the allotment yesterday (which had caused many muscles to ache) meant that I could perhaps dig a bit and then meander off for some photography!

I hoped to see the wonderful green woodpecker that I’d seen before…but no!

It was then I noticed some squirrels frolicking around in a tree. However as soon as they saw me they, and I tell no word of a lie, zipped to a fork in the tree and became very still!

“Cunning!” I thought, “but not cunning enough!”

"Must keep still, must keep still, then she'll just go away with her snazzy camera and all!" said Sacha Squirrel.

“Must keep still, must keep still, then she’ll just go away with her snazzy camera and all!” said Sacha Squirrel.

"Where's she gone now? Must keep still!" Sacha said, unable to move for fear of being spotted!

“Where’s she gone now? Must keep still!” Sacha said, unable to move for fear of being spotted!

"Oy Saffron, don't move a muscle, she's still here!" called Sacha quietly.

“Oy Saffron, don’t move a muscle, she’s still here!” called Sacha quietly.

 

Saffron was glued to the spot!

Saffron was glued to the spot!

 

Not even the tiniest of nose twitches!

Not even the tiniest of nose twitches!

 

How sweet you are in the sunlight though Saffron!

How sweet you are in the sunlight though Saffron!

I know some people aren’t keen on squirrels, but I’m rather partial to them!

That’s All!

See Ya

 

9 comments on “Shhhhh! It’s Secret Squirrel!

  1. they probably kept still so you wouldn’t bark at them whilst running around the tree like my dog Fred!! 🙂

  2. Ever since our honeymoon to Canada, USA and the UK, we have often wished we had Squirrels and Chipmunks in Australia. Some people might think they are pests, but we think they are cute.

    Nice shots! You are lucky they stayed so still for you.

  3. They are cute but these grey ones are a bit naughty as they’ve chased our native red ones away. I had a pet squirrel who we found as a baby having fallen out of its dray so I definitely have a soft spot for them! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Der Schrei der Natur! | Blog It or Lose It!

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

