So That’s What Turning White with Rage Means!

Some of you may be familiar with Tanundra the Turkey who lives near my allotment as he has featured in a couple of my posts.

He’s a fine looking turkey (if you’re a girl turkey)!

"That camera woman is right...I AM A FINE BIRD!" agreed Tanundra.

“That camera woman is right…I AM A FINE BIRD!” agreed Tanundra.

He has a fine wattle too!

Somewhat unsightly for anyone but a turkey!

Somewhat unsightly for anyone but a turkey!

 

Yeah Yeah… I know, I’ve published those pictures before…but hold on-there is a reason for the repeat!

I went to the allotment with my neighbour who is a man(!).

"Don't look now!" said Chessie Chicken, "But there's another male in the area....he might be after your lady turkey wife Tanundra!"

“Don’t look now!” said Chessie Chicken to Tanundra, “But there’s another male in the area….he might be after your lady turkey wife!”

 

The pair of them looked this way and that….

Soon they located the male interloper.....

Soon they located the male interloper…..

And this is what I really wanted to show you….

Before my very eyes Tanundra changed colour and started to gobble and strut about in a very agitated way…

"Lady turkey wife come thither and avert your eyes...I, Tanundra, am the only mate for you!" said Tanundra tersely!

“Lady turkey wife come thither and avert your eyes…I, Tanundra, am the only mate for you!” said Tanundra tersely!

See the colour change?

Lady turkey wife rushed to his side and dutifully averted her eyes!

Lady turkey wife rushed to his side and dutifully averted her eyes!

 

Even the back of his head turned white-ish blue!

"I'm so very angry about another male presence'''" muttered Tanundra!

“I’m so very angry about another male presence”'” muttered Tanundra!

 

Well there you have it. I’ve got to the ripe old age I am (don’t be impertinent I’m not telling!) and didn’t know turkeys did that!

And that’s All!

See Ya xx

12 comments on “So That’s What Turning White with Rage Means!

  1. We had wild turkeys that would roll through our suburb every now and again, when I was in high school. A whole flock? gaggle? or whatever you call them …. about a dozen. And they were a blast to watch. The oldest “tom” would actually STAND on top of the younger tom-to-be’s to exert his dominance…. until one day we watched a young tom hit the road with one of the gals. (Good for him!)
    Turkeys are such fun to watch sometimes ….
    Great post! Love it!

  2. Hey thank you very much. You’re right they are amazing to watch. I actually had a stand off with a turkey on holiday once where one wouldn’t let me and my partner pass him on the road we were walking along! Strange but true beings I think! 🙂

  3. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!

    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your wwebsite to come back in the future.
    Alll the best

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

