But Whose Feet are These Feet?

There I was, by the canal again, walking and walking with camera at the ready, when who should I encounter?

I wonder if anyone would recognise him just by his feet!

Them's big feet them is!

Them’s big feet them is! But is the beak a give away?

 

For those of you who read my blog on 24th Jan “A little birdie told me”, you will know that Mr. Round Robin featured in this post and that he was obviously named ‘Round’ due to his stature! Well, I wonder what we should call the owner of these feet as he seems to have the same propensity towards the spherical!

"Hey you...camera woman, I tink it's a little unfair of you to come a creepin' up on me like that and then suggesting I am on the spherical side of life!" cawked (yes I do mean cawked-it's my word and I like it!) Monroe Moorhen tetchily!

“Hey you…camera woman, I think it’s a little unfair of you to come a creepin’ up on me like that and then suggesting I am on the spherical side of life!” cawked (yes I do mean cawked-it’s my word and I like it!) Monroe Moorhen tetchily!

 

And with that, Monroe stormed off!

"That'll teach her to malign me....now on with the search for those lovely round Kendal mint cakes!" said Monroe.

“That’ll teach her to malign me….now on with the search for those lovely round Kendal mint cakes!” said Monroe.

 

I wasn’t sure whether or not to help Monroe as he seemed to not see the mint cake so close to his beak!

"It must be round here somewhere!" said Monroe in a rather irritated way!

“It must be round here somewhere!” said Monroe in a rather irritated way! “I knew I should have brought my glasses!”

He looked and looked….

"Maybe it's under this leaf?" said Monroe in a hopeful sort of way!

“Maybe it’s under this leaf?” said Monroe in a hopeful sort of way!

 

In the end he shouted to his partner Marilyn who didn’t know and didn’t care about the location of the mint cake!

"Marilyn, Marilyn, where did you say you saw it?" shouted Monroe.

“Marilyn, Marilyn, where did you say you saw it?” shouted Monroe.

 

It was no good, no matter how hard Monroe looked he just could not find the mint cake and decided that he and Marilyn would have to put up with grass for their tea instead that evening!

"Um yum!" said Monroe in a completely nonplussed way!

“Um yum!” said Monroe in a completely nonplussed way!

 

That’s all!

See Ya xx

8 comments on “But Whose Feet are These Feet?

  1. Great collection! We have the coot hereabouts, and my first guess was such. Coots have the same rotund shape and aimless quirking about, their necks ratchet back and forth as if it’s the mechanism that moves their legs.

    • Thank you! I think your description of their necks ‘ratcheting back and forth’ is perfect and it definitely does seem that there is a wire between their necks/heads and their legs!

  2. I thought ’round robin’ was named after the continuous letters that use to be sent (secondary to his rotundness!) Suits him whatever!
    another well illustrated story in your world. thank you. 🙂

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

