Poppies and One Poem (not about poppies!)

Today was windy and fabulous.

I had finished pickling the current pickled onions that had been sitting in salt over night, I had hammered a picture hook in the wall, I had been hideous food shopping and, this is hard to confess….I had watched last night’s Dallas episode.

Now was the time for a walk, so off I went. Armed with my camera, as always, I tramped through fields and eventually found something I wanted to photograph!

A poppy seed head.

But before I show you the pic I want to go back through yon poppy’s life cycle with you.

A bud, a bud!

And after a little while and the summer sun, Pete Le Poppy (remember to hover) explodes into this….

Good Eh?

Summer progressed and Pete Le Poppy’s petals fell off….

The snails seem happy too!

Just another similar shot that I rather like now…

Did you realise poppies were so hairy!?

So now it’s Autumn, there isn’t so much green…in fact I think one could say that the seed heads look quite dry! Here’s a selection of those that I found….

They are a bit like the chinese lantern with the seeds inside.

See what I mean?

All the seeds have gone.

Here’s the pattern on the end…

Lovely pattern.

I have collected as many seed as I can and will fling them about in my garden tomorrow!

Here’s one last large shot of Pete Le Poppy…

We will remember you Pete

Now, the poem…

Sometimes when I’m lonely

Sometimes when I’m sad

I sit down in front of the mirror

And pull faces that look really bad!!

That’s all!

See Ya xx

4 comments on “Poppies and One Poem (not about poppies!)

  1. Thanks, yes poor Pete Le Poppy is sadly missed but his offspring will be germinating in a few months!! I must leave this strange fantasy world soon or it will suck me in! Thanks for the comment 🙂 PS, where’s your ‘like’ button on your blog…I can never find it!

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

