Ducks’ Tails and Dragonflies

Today I wish to tell you about a jealous secret I have had for many years and it is to do with my mother! This secret jealousy has made me want to steal!! And, of course, once I steal (which I haven’t yet!), I will then have to lie! None of this is good practise for family relations which at present are in fine form!

So thus I will begin my confessional:

It is to do with ducks….duck feathers to be exact!

Did you know that male ducks have a little curly feather near their tails…sort of on top of their back but at the tail end? Well maybe you should take a look one day, they are very wonderful. And the wonderful thing about them is the shape of the feather. Oh dear, I don’t believe I am expressing myself very well at all…perhaps a photo would be better. This is not terribly clear but you will be able to see what I mean I hope!

Can you see the curly tail feathers?

So the jealousy is down to the fact that Mother found not one but two drake tail feathers! And she won’t give one to me (mind you, I wouldn’t give them away either!) and I know it may not seem like much to you……

Anyway I was allowed to take photos of them and so in honour of how much I like them I placed one of them on red cloth:

I love it and covet it!

Here are the two of them free styling!

My mother owns two….grrrr!

Anyway, I was in the process of forcing my mother to look at my blog (which I do once a week whether she likes it or not!) and she was looking at the one where I took photos of the large dragonfly. Anyway then she said, “I’ve got one of those!” and proceeded to rush to a secret place (she has many) and pulled out a box. And in that box was this:

Mother has had this for many a year.

I took a series of photos and close ups which follow (Don’t forget, one click over one of these photos and they become nice and big):

Sadly I put the dragonfly on the royal red carpet too but one of its’ legs got caught and came right off….Oops!

To finish, here’s a rather jolly photo of a slightly smug and self satisfied duck!

Cor luvver duck!

And that’s all!

See Ya xx

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

