This is what it is…

Here’s my photo from yesterday’s blog of a mystery plant that is about 8 inches tall, pretty magnificent but without a name…

It is Ink Weed!

Thanks to JM who pointed me in the right direction with a suggestion of ‘Poke Weed’.

Now just a little aside, having looked up images of Ink Weed, I was innocently showing a lady I don’t know particularly well the results of the google search when she suddenly said….”Ooh what’s that?”

Imagine my horror when there amongst the images was a naked lady in a provocative pose!! I very quickly moved swiftly on whilst blushing almost as red as the Ink Weed’s berries! Anyway, here’s one of those photos (NO not the rude one….an internet photo of Ink Weed!)….

Definitely not as big as mine!

The websites with information about Ink Weed are from Australia and America and here are some quotes from them….

  • Not a legally declared Pest Plant. Often found in moist areas
  • Flower head-erect
  • Flowers-bisexual
  • Eradication strategies(!)-Drag a railway iron or similar across heavy infestations

I will certainly not employ the eradication strategy as I saw the plant in someone’s garden and I’m not sure it would be very neighbourly to begin the railway iron process!

I’m thinking that some of the quotes from various websites could be the reason for the saucy images on the same pages! Definitely some double entendre sort of words.

So-the mystery is solved! But one last thing…on my iPhoto there is the ability for it to recognise faces and I noticed that when looking at one of the photos, iPhoto wanted me to add a name….so I did….

Your name is Hank!

 

That’s all..

See Ya xx

2 comments on “This is what it is…

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

