Elderberry Rob!

As I have said before….it’s scrumping time so off I went for an early morning constitutional walk across the fields. In my pocket a small bag…(don’t tell anyone but it was a doggy ‘poo-bag’ that my mother had left behind-yes, she does have a dog!) …anyway, it was the perfect sized bag for a little blackberry picking. Oh heavens, there were so many blackberries that I vowed I would come back in the afternoon. I continued on my way but went a slightly different route to my usual one. It was then that I became terribly overexcited by the number of elderberry trees and swiftly after that by the number of elderberries. Then I  knew I would have to come back in the afternoon for elderberries.

 

On arriving back home I set to work de-stalking the little beauties ready to cook…..but what was this?? Ah I had forgotten how much earwigs like elderberries. My kitchen was crawling with them, sticking their bottom claws up defensively!

One of the 35 earwigs roaming around my kitchen this afternoon!

And this is what I made…..

Elderberry Rob moments away from bottling.

So I went back into the kitchen to bottle the cordial and what do I find…..?

2 more earwigs. One trying to get into the fridge, the other scuttling along the bottom of a cupboard…until he lost his balance, that is! And here’s where he ended up…

Oh Dear oh dear!

Can you see him in the cup of rob (which is just another name for cordial).

Apparently elderberries are an invaluable cordial for colds and coughs, but only of late years has science proved that Elderberries furnish Viburnic acid, which induces perspiration, and is especially useful in cases of bronchitis and similar troubles.

Who would have thought it?

See ya xx

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

