The Camel Spider Experience!

It had been another hot day on our Turkish holiday, approximately 45 degrees, and travelling buddy and I had had a hard morning by the pool, sunbathing, reading, swimming….you get the picture. We then had a beer (turkish beer called Efes-very nice) and continued holidaying vigourously. A little later we decided that it was time to become recumbent out of the sun. So we picked up our books, kindle and iPad and retreated to the living room…..

Ample space for retreating from the sun for a short while.

I positioned myself on the settee by the wall whilst travelling buddy started moving cushions on the other settee for ultimate comfort. Suddenly she moved faster than I have ever seen her move before, clutching her arms around herself and hyper-ventilating! Whilst rearranging the cushions, she had picked one up and underneath it was this…….

No wonder she looked a little startled!

Now obviously this is not the photo of the incident…the floors of the villa are tiles not mud! I didn’t manage to get a photo at the time but wanted you to be able to see the great big blighter!

Anyway, on with the story. This camel spider had been sitting quietly, minding his own business underneath one of the aforementioned cushions being plumped for comfort before being rudely disturbed. But once exposed, it remained quite still and was very accommodating as I placed a large jar over it. I can honestly say I have never seen any spider like it. It was gross yet fascinating. It had 8 legs and then those two antennae positioned leg lookalikes flailing in the air. It was about 15cm long. But that beak….oh it was so horrible. I have managed to find another photo but a little closer up….

Ugh ugh ugh!

What can I say? If you were to google camel spiders then you could see videos of them too….if you wanted!

So, camel spider under the cushion got unceremoniously thrown over the garden wall so that travelling buddy and I could get on with the business of relaxation and more beer drinking to calm our nerves.

That’s all for now, but I might find another creepy crawly story for another day!!

See Ya xx

 

 

 

2 comments on “The Camel Spider Experience!

  1. Sorry…. Can’t ‘like’ a post about spiders! I wish I wasn’t so scared of them! I ave held a tarantula once. It didn’t cure me. Why are we not able to photograph them when they are safe in their jars?? I caught a HUGE one (for England anyway… About 6cm, black & hairy) recently & kept him/ her outdoors for a while to show my husband. But I couldn’t photograph him. He would have made such a great subject too!!

    • The camel spider was the most ugly, revolting yet fascinating thing I have seen for a long time. But I do like photographing them and particularly their webs. Thanks for visiting, commenting and following 🙂

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

