Cinnabar Moth in the Field 15th June

Last year I saw my very first yellow and black striped caterpillar and here is is the photo I took of a bunch of them:

Ragwort-good for cinnabar caterpillars-not good for cattle or horses!

So this little caterpillar eats the ragwort which makes it ‘unpalatable’, maybe even poisonous. Mind you I wasn’t thinking of eating one!! Actually poisonous to predators!

Once they have eaten their fill and done what caterpillars do they turn into this:

Cinnabar moth

If you had seen me in the field yesterday, chasing around after 2 of these moths…you would have laughed. I pretty much looked like a mad woman…but I got the shot I wanted.

See Ya xx

Go on.....say something to me! You know you want to! Dot knows you want to too!

